New uke - tuning problems

wanstronian

Reaction score
Hi,

I was given a ukulele for Christmas. I'm a total beginner, although I play a bit of guitar. I'm trying to tune the instrument to itself, and all the online resources I've found say that the C string fourth fret should make an E. Sounds sensible... but mine doesn't! Third fret sounds an E. Also first fret on all strings is a full tone up from open, not a semitone. Is that right? C and F chords sound ok, haven't got any further.

Any suggestions? Am I doing something wrong? Tuning from a tuning app on my smartphone is problem free, but C string fourth fret is NOT an E!

Thanks
W

EDIT: G7 is definitely not right. Compared to the G7 here: http://www.ukeschool.com/access/basic/3_chords_c_1.html , the way to get the same chord is to play C string first fret, not second.

Last edited:
sounds like your action at the nut is too high, so the strings have too much vertical travel to reach the fret, and they get stretched. your uke needs a setup.

That makes loads of sense - the action is a lot harder than I'd expect on nylon strings. The strings are about 5mm above the fret board at the nut end, and close to double that at the other end of the neck.

Surprising though that this only seems to affect the C string? I'd have thought that all strings would be affected. F is fine, even though it uses first and second frets...

Individual strings can be affected because some nut slots can be cut low enough while others aren't. When only one string is at fault it is usually the C string because it is the thickest string so doesn't sit fully in the slots molded into the nuts on inexpensive ukuleles. With action that high I would be willing to bet that the other strings are also pulling quite sharp at the first fret, just not a whole step like the C.