Healing power of the ukulele

caukulele

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I just wanted to share a story about the healing power of the ukulele…. My 91 year old uncle has been in the hospital for a few days. He has the beginnings of dementia, and now seems to have suffered a series of strokes. I was with him most of the day yesterday and he was agitated the whole day, and so it was difficult finding out ways to comfort him. Today I brought my ukulele, because he loves music, and when I started playing it was incredible to see the transformation in him. His face lit up and he loved it, even trying to sing with me, and eventually dozed off peacefully, I continued to play softly in the background as he slept, and he would sleep for awhile then wake up and give me a huge toothless grin and then go back to sleep. My aunt (in her mid eighties) said it was the calmest she has seen him since he arrived at the hospital. It just shows the power of music and love to break through boundaries and sooth….

Aloha Denise,
Wow sorry to hear of your uncles condition and the mini strokes and dementia....but I am glad he responded so well to music and your uke playing.. I guess it helps soothe him and get
him to relax....I am sure it jots his long term memory of fun times and his favorite songs....good job girl...thank you for sharing...

I'm sorry he's not doing well,but it's so sweet that you calmed him with our uke.

That is a great story. I like the part about you sitting with your uncle all day.

I've been thinking a lot about family lately, and your post confirms some of those thoughts, so thank you for that. I hope it gets better for your aunt and uncle.

Thank you for a wonderful story. It's great that you could connect with him through your Uke. Helping put him at ease is the greatest gift you could bring. Hope he improves quickly.