Typical Newb Questions: Which Uke & problem with fret buzz

Katz-in-Boots

Reaction score
Hiya from the land of Oz, or Australia, the land down under! I am a total newb re ukuleles, though been playing instruments most of my life. Here are my total noob questions:

Currently I have a Lanikai CK-T Tenor. I switched it to Low G tuning cos I couldn't handle the idea of the bottom string not being lowest :confused: Over the past 3 days a buzzing on that string has gotten worse - is this because the wire-wound G is biting into the nut too far? I should say these are Aquilla Nylgut strings.

And the good ol' "Which ukulele should I buy" question:
Luna Orchid solid Koa Concert, a Kala Golden Acacia (with eq) or Luna Dolphin concert? I love the blue of the Dolphin, and I'd like an electric (do not ask me why, there is no logic to this)
I am new to ukulele and don't expect to ever be much good at it.

Your experienced & considered responses are humbly invited.

The buzzing string could be a lot of things. The first thing I would try is putting a bit of paper under the string at the nut - if this eliminates the problem you are looking at the string being too low and buzzing against the frets. However, since it's a wound string it could be fraying somewhere along its length. Examine it closely along the entire length.

Of the ukes you list none is going to necessarily be "best" or "worst" (assuming you really mean Luna Dolphin and not Makala Dolphin - LOL). In this price range there is a lot of variability so one sample of one of them could wipe the floor with the others, take a different set of samples and the situation could be completely reversed. Also, buying ukes in this range it is very important to order from a dedicated uke retailer who will set them up (unless you have the tools and know-how to adjust the depth of nut slots, sand saddles, and in rare cases even level the frets).

John