How do I raise a nut for playing slide?

Curly Koa

Reaction score
Hey all . . . I just ordered a new baritone and want to set my old one up for use solely as a slide uke, but I am new to doing my own setup work. Can anyone point me to a resource so I can learn how to raise a nut? Or to make one from scratch that will be high enough for playing slide?

Any other tips for making this work well for slide uke? :drool:

Thanks for your time!

No idea at all on how you will go on making it work well for slide. But making a new nut is about as simple as it gets.

Pull off strings of course. Remove old nut. Get suitable size piece of bone or hardwood that will be used to make new nut. Shape said piece to same dimensions as old nut, only taller by the amount you want to raise the strings at the nut end. Then cut new nut slots with similar spacing to original. Install new nut with very small drop of glue to bottom of nut, just so it doesn't drop out the next time you change strings. String it up and see how you go.

Thanks. Would you recommend a wood for the nut (didn't know wood would work for a nut--cool)? Would it sound/sustain better if bone? My Dremel tool is calling my name.

I use a bolt of the desired size for the nut on my cigar box guitars. Cut it down to the correct width, tune to an open chord, and you're ready to go.

I have seen U shaped metal objects that fit over the nut to raise the action...like this guitar one.
Nutraiser.jpg

Perhaps Aaron Keim could help? I know he has built at least one uke specifically for slide.

Then again the metal arch pictured on the post above this one looks like a workable solution if you are not interested in making a new nut.