PDA

View Full Version : Ukulele won't tune properly

youkalay
01-01-2013, 09:30 AM
Hi! I am new to ukulele and just received one for christmas. In fairness it is a cheap ukulele but I can't seem to tune it properly. Even when the individual strings are tuned some of the chords still sound wrong, especially the g chord. It is odd because the c chord and Am are fine. Is this a problem with the strings or is it the ukulele itself?

Thanks very much :)

chris667
01-01-2013, 09:37 AM
It's very hard to tell if it's a problem with the ukulele without looking at it.

Is it your first go at playing a ukulele? Are you pressing the strings down properly?

wallyboy
01-01-2013, 09:45 AM
Hi! I am new to ukulele and just received one for christmas. In fairness it is a cheap ukulele but I can't seem to tune it properly. Even when the individual strings are tuned some of the chords still sound wrong, especially the g chord. It is odd because the c chord and Am are fine. Is this a problem with the strings or is it the ukulele itself?

is the g string loose, if it is try winding it up an octave,

bildio
01-01-2013, 09:51 AM
Perhaps one of the left hand fingers is touching a string that it shouldn't. Try playing the individual strings while fingering the G chord. Listen if each individual string sounds okay.

youkalay
01-01-2013, 10:12 AM
Thanks for all replying so quickly!

I've never owned my own ukulele but I used to borrow a friends occasionally and hers never did this.

I think the g string is tight enough. When I played the notes seperately it seemed to be the the c string that is off. But it sounds fine in other chords. I have retuned it a couple of times and also got my friend who has a good ear for that to tune it, but it still sounds odd in the g chord.

The strings are only nylon so should I just put it down to that? And if so will they improve as they stretch?

philrab66
01-01-2013, 10:20 AM

Check it with an online tuner.

wallyboy
01-01-2013, 10:24 AM