PDA

View Full Version : Should I get the Concert Kala KA-CEM or Kala KA-T Tenor?

RobbeUke
01-01-2013, 11:35 AM
I honestly like the sound of both of the Ukes, especially for what a broke college student can afford. However, it really is more a size concern and the ability to play. I am a beginner and have virtually no experience with the guitars or ukes, and am looking for something that would be easier to learn to play, as far as that goes.

Thank You all!

kvehe
01-01-2013, 11:50 AM
Hi, RobbeUke, and welcome to the best uke site! You will get answers to that question that are all over the map, so I'll start the bidding by saying that some people think it's easier to learn on a concert than a tenor, while some think it doesn't make any difference. What everyone does agree on, though, is that it is very important to buy your uke from a dealer who will provide a proper setup so you aren't hampered by technical problems with the uke that could be easily avoided. I've purchased ukes from The Podium in Minneapolis and from Groth in Bloomington, and been quite satisfied with both. If you're thinking of online sales, you can't go wrong with Hawaii Music Supply (HMS), Uke Republic, or Mim (or Mainland, when [not if!] you're in the market for another uke). HMS (theukulelesite.com) has a great video about what goes into a setup and why it's important. It probably doesn't matter a whole lot whether you start with a concert or a tenor, because at some point you'll probably buy the other (!). I personally would choose the concert, but that's just me. Again, welcome, Happy 2013, and let us know what you choose!

RobbeUke
01-01-2013, 12:11 PM
Thank You! I was actually looking to buy them from the Hawaii Music Supply, because I'm out of town right now - and hope to see it on my door step when I arrive back in the Twin Cities. :)

jglover
01-01-2013, 12:13 PM