Jack Johnson's Better Together (Newbie Attempt)

What do you think of this attempt of Jack Johnson's Better Together? I just started learning ukulele, starting during Christmas. I left it unlisted on my channel, because I know there are many, many improvements I can make. By the way, happy new year!

http://youtu.be/_QKBKAcRXhg

I've just started on the ukulele myself. It looks like we might have gotten the same model!

I loved the percussive effect you achieved with your muting. It really gave the song some punch and flair.

One thing I noticed was that the strings on your uke had a tendency to bend underneath your chord fingerings, making some of the chords go out of tune. It's a problem that I'm having myself, especially when I downtune my instrument. Do you think we should start a thread in the beginner's section to address this issue of accidental bending?

In any case, speaking as a fellow beginner, I thought your cover was quite impressive considering that you've only had the instrument a week. That makes me want to work hard myself!

One thing I noticed was that the strings on your uke had a tendency to bend underneath your chord fingerings, making some of the chords go out of tune. It's a problem that I'm having myself, especially when I downtune my instrument. Do you think we should start a thread in the beginner's section to address this issue of accidental bending?

Hey Ragtime Life!
Yea, I noticed that bending as a problem when I watched my own recording of it. My first reaction to that was "Wow, do I really bend the strings that much?" I tried searching the forum for it, but I couldn't find an answer, so one of us should probably start a thread about it.

The percussive effect from my muting actually came by accident, but I ended up choosing to keep it because I heard a little of it in the song itself and it helped me keep track of how far into the song I was. Ended up working out well in the end. :D