To read, nor not to read?

LifesShort

Reaction score
By "to read, or not to read" I really mean should I learn the fretboard of the ukulele so that I can read music for it? I have played guitar for 35+ years and can read music as well as tab. I know where the notes are located on the guitar fretboard, also. However, I am new to the ukulele (been playing about 4 months) and haven't taken the time to learn the notes on the uke. How many of you actually know what notes you a playing? Do you just read tab like I've been doing and not worry about the names of the notes? With the proliferation of tab, I don't even know if there is a real reason to learn the fretboard. I know really good guitarists that have been playing for years and don't have a clue as to what notes they are playing.

I have every intention of learning the fretboard of the ukulele. I just have to make it a priority. It's just such a fun instrument to play, I really haven't studied or learned it yet, if that make sense.

Last edited:
Yeah I know what you mean. I've been playing for years and still haven't sat down to school myself on the scales. I've been reading music since 3rd grade, just not on the instrument I actually play now. Since I hate tabs, it's led to lots of frustration. You should do your scales to not end up like me. :)

By "to read, or not to read" I really mean should I learn the fretboard of the ukulele so that I can read music for it?

Why not? What downside could there be?

JJ

If I hadn't taken time to re-learn to read music this past year, I wouldn't be able to play Hawaiian music, folk music, songs of Tin Pan Alley, classical music, cowboy songs, and a whole lot more great music I've yet to find.

So much wonderful music has been written in notation that it seems silly to not learn to read it---kind of like loving stories, but not learning to read books.

If you're going to play melodies at all, then you really do need to know the fretboard.