Why did you switch over to ukes?

pakhan

Reaction score
Okay, I come from the world of high end guitars and even though I still produce a magazine focused on that, I play more ukes and I prefer hanging out with you guys here on UU.

It's friendlier, less competitive and folks don't have that many posturing I see on some of the forums/ FB....

How about you guys?

Did you play another instrument when switch to ukes?

Terence

I played pipe and tabor and also bodhran until health issues struck. I started playing the ukulele after hearing one played at a folk festival and just loved the sound.

I too am a guitar convert, mainly because my fingers just don't work the way they used to and the smaller neck, softer strings, LESS strings (easier chords), all made playing more fun again.

Plus, it doesn't cost thousands to get a good instrument. I could never afford the money or space to have five full size guitars around the house. On the other hand, I can have 2-3 ukes in the rooms that I spend time in, never more than a few feet away.

Plus they don't roll away from me the way my bodhrans do.

I could never stick with guitar, it'd sit in the case in the corner of the room and I'd be like "I don't feel like dragging that big thing out, I'll practice tomorrow". With uke, I couldn't put it down, even had one on my dashboard for awhile.
Once I met other ukulele players, it became a whole new thing.

My dad taught me to play uke when I was a kid, but my main instrument over the years has been the piano. I picked up the uke again when I went on a backpacking trip a few years ago, and my brother-in-law said he was going to bring his daughter's toy guitar. I brought my Kamaka that had been collecting dust, and we had some great jams.