I can't hold my Ukulele

RedViolin

Reaction score
Hi. I recently started playing the uke (from a guitar and violin background). Problem is, I just can't get how to hold the uke.

In the first picture, I use the left hand to completely hold the uke (with the thumb and the index). My right hand is able to strum and pick freely but it's difficult to switch chords. Most who hold their ukes look like the first picture but they do not rely on their left hand fully.

In the second picture, I do a classical guitar position and I am able to freely use both the left and the right hand. I do not see anyone using the classical guitar position so it must be wrong.

I'm a girl so I have a problem using my forearm to press against my ribcage (I do not use my forearms to support in either pictures). One, I have my lady parts and I can't lay the uke flat against my body (in picture #1, there is space between the uke and my body). Two, the headstock is so heavy that however way I try it won't balance.

PLEASE, HELP A BEGINNER IN NEED OF ADVICE!!!

Attachments

• IMG_3636.jpg
    IMG_3636.jpg
    88 KB · Views: 313
  • IMG_3637.jpg
    IMG_3637.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 344
I quite often play in the "classical guitar position". Coming from a guitar background I find it comfortable. There's no such thing as a "wrong" way to hold your Uke while playing, do whatever works for you :)

The beauty of music is self expression, and the best musicians do it how they want not how it is 'right'.

For example, it was wrong when only right handed guitars existed, to then swap the strings round and convert it to left handed... right?

_42341382_fender_ap416.jpg

I have the same problem.
I fixed it by getting a neckstrap from the famous auction site.

The kind of strap I use goes round the neck. A single adjustable plastic clip goes under the back of the Uke, around to the front and then clips in the sound hole.
:cool: