Do Uke Players ever stop using "One Finger per Fret" fingering?

deFontie

Reaction score
I have been playing the mandolin for four years, and I just got a ukelele for Christmas. I love it! I just have one question...

The book I am using to teach myself the uke uses the "one finger per fret fingering". When you need to play the fifth fret, you just move every finger up a fret.

However, when I was first taught the mandolin, I also used this one finger per fret fingering. After about 6 months, when my fingers had become more flexible from playing the mando, my teacher showed me a new fingering: the first finger plays the 1st and 2nd frets, the 2nd finger plays the 3rd and 4th frets, the 3rd finger plays the 5th and 6th frets, and the 4th finger plays the 7th fret.

I was wondering if uke players also end up switching to this fingering, because if they do, then I will be able to start using it from the get-go because my fingers are already flexible enough to do this (because of my mandolin experience).

Thanks for your help!

Don't know if I'm right or wrong. I use 1st finger on 1st fret, 2nd finger on 2nd, 3rd on3rd...

If you're already able to do it on mandolin, I see no reason why it shouldn't work on a uke. Give it a shot!

If you press a piano key with your elbow, it sounds the same as if you pressed it with your finger. Same concept applies to ukulele fretting.

The book you are using is probably geared to beginners. The authors have to give some sort of direction to the reader. They are not rules, more like guidelines and a reasonable place to start. Suggestions such as using your ring or pinky finger to make the standard C chord are meant to develop habits that will make it easier to transition to the next chord, etc.

Your mandolin experience will prove quite helpful as you learn where the notes are on the ukulele. As a strummer, I rarely use a pick. But a well-picked ukulele produces some wonderful sounds.