how to cut a uke neck with only hand tools

banjolelebsi

Reaction score
Hi all

I have made 3 necks so far and each one is improving so i guess i am doing something right.

When i get to cutting out the heel shape i get stuck. I use a coping saw to cut the curve for the heel but end up struggling and having to do a lot of sanding and rasping afterwards to remove a lot of wood leftover from the saw cut.

Is there an easier way to achieve a decent neck profile using just a handsaw, coping saw, rasps and sandpaper?

All help appreciated.

Regards

Simon

I'm no expert by any means, but I bought a spoke shaver a while back and it reduced my neck-building time considerably.
The chisel is a good one too. But if you think it is sharp enough, it's probably not. Get it very sharp.

You should be able to cut your necks with a dovetail saw and a rasp.
I like the Japanese pull-cut saw for cutting the dovetail. You should be able to cut the rest with a rasp, I like the "dragon rasp" small, coarse teeth.
If you add a coping saw, you can hog out a lot of the heel and shaft shape, before going at it with the rasp.
If you add a chisel, 3/8" width you can cut the cheeks into the shape of the sides, and help fit the neck.
The rest is sandpaper, 150 grit, for fitting the neck to the body.

I've used a combination of spoke-shave, rasp and chisels to shape necks. I'm guilty of not making sure the spoke-shave blade was sharp enough for the task. I got very frustrated with the chattering etc. I was sharing my frustration with Gordon from Mya Moe and he turned me on to Microplanes. This tool is a dream. I've used it to shape maple, mahogany and spanish cedar necks and it cuts through them like butter. I purchased a set that had a course, fine and round blade.

If you look in the kitchen maybe your wife has one hidden away as they are used for zesting lemons and limes. I borrowed my wifes first and was a belieiver. Placed an order right away.