PDA

View Full Version : Changing chords without 'dropping' the neck

Uke-lahoma
12-04-2008, 03:54 PM
Hey, folks. I'm a newbie at the uke (less than one week), and I'm struggling with changing chords smoothly on my tenor uke. For example, I try to play the intro to 'Let It Snow', as Aldrine does in his video; as I switch from F to C7, the neck is momentarily unsupported, dropping and making it tough to get my hand in place for the C7. Ditto on going from C7 back to F.

I think I'm probably holding the neck wrong. The pad of my thumb is centered on the back of the neck, my palm is away from the neck, and my fingertips are arched over the fingerboard, fretting the appropriate strings. Should I be resting the neck somewhere between my index finger and thumb? Or, should I be doing something else?

BTWriter
12-04-2008, 04:35 PM
I had a similar problem, but solved it by getting a classical guitar strap. It holds it in place for me.

I am jealous of those who can pick up and play without one, though...

SinisterDom
12-04-2008, 05:47 PM
I've never had a problem like that....Sounds like you're taking your hand completely off the neck, you should just move your fingers.

UkeNinja
12-04-2008, 06:03 PM
I've never had a problem like that....Sounds like you're taking your hand completely off the neck, you should just move your fingers.
Good advice, concentrate on changing chords while leaving a finger on the fretboard, or by sliding across the fretboard.

Sometimes is helps to throw the neck up a bit before you change chords so you can catch it with the next. So if your strum would be

1-2 (change chord) 3-4

try

1-2- UP!!! (release chord and throw neck in the air, set fingers for next chord and catch) -3-4

Mind you, this is an unorthodox style of playing.

haole
12-04-2008, 06:37 PM
Rest the neck between your thumb and index finger. It will change your life! The uke won't go anywhere now. :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v34/brushfirefairytale/F-C7.jpg

UkEdman90