As a new player, how to tell if your ukulele is set up properly?

CoffeeKid

Reaction score
Hi. I Just started learning, but I more or less have a toy ukulele. So I recently ordered a kanile'a islander from ebay. However, I've been reading from other people's comments on the importance of buying your ukulele from a reputable music shop that would take the time to make sure the instrument is set up properly. I'm not even sure what a proper set up would be outside of factory settings.
Thanks! And I'm just happy to be able to be part of this group.

Hi. I Just started learning, but I more or less have a toy ukulele. So I recently ordered a kanile'a islander from ebay. However, I've been reading from other people's comments on the importance of buying your ukulele from a reputable music shop that would take the time to make sure the instrument is set up properly. I'm not even sure what a proper set up would be outside of factory settings.
Thanks! And I'm just happy to be able to be part of this group.
I like the action at the nut to be no higher than 0.05mm (1/2 mm) and 2.5mm at the twelfth fret. Acceptable allowances are 0.08mm and 3.0mm. Your uke will almost certainly fall within this range. I wouldn't worry about the fretwork too much, as something coming from Islander would be produced with a very good tolerance level I'd imagine.

I set my own ukes up. It's not that hard really and can be done very cheaply. Check this tutorial out, followed by part 2.

You'll do well with the Kanilea, good choice. Chances are that action will already be good with that brand. But it never hurts to get educated. There are many threads on UU dealing with setups, string heights, and the like. Learn what you can, but try not to obsess over it all.

Play awhile to get to know what you like, don't like, or what else to try. Find a group or other players and check out their instruments. Some you will like, others you won't. All part of the fun.