What am I? I need advice!

Reaction score
Hello... this is my first post and I need some help. I am trying to find some TAB books, but honestly - I don't know what my skill level is.

I have been playing 5-string bluegrass banjo (3 finger) for about 6 years, and I would say I am an intermediate. I recently got into ukulele, because my mother-in-law bought me a Lanakai Concert uke. I latched onto the uke quickly, and I find playing ukulele much easier than 5-string banjo. My background in banjo has really helped me in fingerpicking (in fact, I started fingerpicking and had to learn to strum, as picking is what I was used to). I am now working on the flamenco-type stuff like the 5-finger and 10-finger rolls, triple strums and all that. But, I must admit that playing with the back of my nails in a new and uncomfortable task (but, I have no problems with up-picking banjo style)

So... here is my question: What level should I consider myself? Why does it matter???? - I will tell you; Because I am trying to figure out what TAB books to buy (I do not read shape notes). I have read reviews that say "good if you are an intermediate" or "not for beginners" ... does this mean I should not waste my money? On the flip side, TABS of songs that are geared toward a person who has never finger picked an instrument before.

What to you seasoned uke pickers think I should do?:confused:

Thanks in advance.

Blukegrass Picker

Thanks a lot. I will be sure to look into this site in depth. This looks like it has a bunch of songs. Do you know if it has the melody, too? As far as I could see, it was all chords. But, I will have to look deeper into the site to be sure.