PDA

View Full Version : Connect Ukulele to Computer?



Kyle23
01-14-2013, 07:11 AM
Is there a way to connect my ukulele to my computer to record better audio?

I made a video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2_JaGvJCkA

and my friend for fun wanted to sing the chorus of the song over it, but the quality isn't so great sound wise. I know there has to be a chord to plug into my pickup to my computer. ANyone know if it exists or what it's called?

ukeeku
01-14-2013, 07:25 AM
when I do video I use my Blue Yeti mic as the aidio source. sounds a lot better than the mic in the camera.
others might have better ways.

pootsie
01-14-2013, 07:47 AM
If you have an electric pickup, you can get a 1/4" female phone to 1/8" male phone adapter that would let you plug your chord directly into the typical computer microphone input.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21v3YeMxZmL.jpg
You may have to fiddle with your input levels.

Kyle23
01-14-2013, 07:53 AM
If you have an electric pickup, you can get a 1/4" female phone to 1/8" male phone adapter that would let you plug your chord directly into the typical computer microphone input.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21v3YeMxZmL.jpg
You may have to fiddle with your input levels.

If I get a regular amp chord and plug it into that slot, it'll be fine?

whatevershebringswesing
01-14-2013, 08:00 AM
Home made piezo pickup with mono 6mm - 3mm connection straight into Audacity. Luvvly jubbly. About 3.50 or five of your fancy green dollars.

pootsie
01-14-2013, 08:20 AM
If I get a regular amp chord and plug it into that slot, it'll be fine?

Yes, a regular amp chord (1/4" male phone plugs at both ends). That adapter should fit the normal microphone input (on the front or side of your average laptop).

As Whatevershesaid mentioned, you can use Audacity -- a free download audio program. You may have to twiddle with the imput levels to get things right.

Kyle23
01-14-2013, 08:55 AM
Wouldn't my headphone jack on my computer only be output though?

Louis0815
01-14-2013, 09:13 AM
Wouldn't my headphone jack on my computer only be output though?Yes, that's why pootsie talked about the microphone jack. The exact location differs, but I'd be very surprised if you had none.

glass
01-14-2013, 09:13 AM
Wouldn't my headphone jack on my computer only be output though?

there should also be a mic input

Kyle23
01-14-2013, 09:26 AM
Ohhhh I see it now. Thanks a lot guys.

Plainsong
01-14-2013, 04:50 PM
If you want better sound, try getting something that goes from instrument input to USB. Lots of companies make them now. If you're on a Mac, then the Apogee Jam all day long. Clean clean sound. If you're on a PC, then probably the one by Peavey is pretty good. There are lots of brands now though.

Then you'd use some amp modeling software, and really dial in your sound that way.

mattydee
01-14-2013, 06:24 PM
Also, depending on your pickup, you may need a pre-amp.

Plainsong
01-14-2013, 09:46 PM
Some software accounts for that. Sure it's not as high-end as a pre-amp pedal would be, but it just depends on the software. I use Ampkit+ on the iphone/ipad, and it does have some acoustic options, including the pre-amp EQ.

Or maybe you don't even want a "true" sound, but maybe just a cool sound. In that case, the sky's the limit. :)

mattydee
01-15-2013, 04:15 AM
Some software accounts for that. Sure it's not as high-end as a pre-amp pedal would be, but it just depends on the software. I use Ampkit+ on the iphone/ipad, and it does have some acoustic options, including the pre-amp EQ.

Or maybe you don't even want a "true" sound, but maybe just a cool sound. In that case, the sky's the limit. :)

I've also got that ampkit rig. It works well. You can also use it to jack directly into the computer.