Left handed question.

Ukunewb

Reaction score
I'm a newbie with two weeks of playing under my belt!

I am also left handed. I've been playing right handed and it's going fine. However, I'm now at a stage where I have encountered chords that involve my pinkie.

My left pinkie nerve got sliced when I was a kid so mine is weaker than most. Even tho I'm left-handed, my right pinkie is comparably much stronger and more cooperative. This is making me think that maybe I've finally encountered a reason that tips the scale toward switching to left-handed playing.

So I guess my question is, from the lefties who are playing left-handed, do you like left-handed playing or do you regret switching? What issues did you face that you didn't realize you'd have to face when you switched? I know about mirroring the chord diagrams and things like that, which shouldn't be a huge issue.

Or alternatively, can a person be an adequate player without ever using their pinky? I discovered my pinkie problem while attempting a Dm7 chord, so in the interest of getting past it, I have been fretting Dm and not strumming the A string. I essentially fake it ;-). It's a case of fast chord changes, so I figured I wouldn't have time to strum all 4 strings anyway ;-).

I don't plan on changing my name to Jake ;-) esp since I'm female ;-). I just play for stress relief, so continuing to play right handed is my preference if I can ignore the pinkie problem.

Insights always welcome from lefties -- and non-lefties too.

I love this board. Thank you.

T

My Uke
Kahuna Zebrawood Concert. It is my treasure.

Well, being a left-handed activist, I demand that you switch to left-handed playing RIGHT NOW!! ;)

Seriously, though, if it's working for you, then go with it. My only issue playing left-handed is that I can't play anyone else's uke as they're all right-handed.