"The Letter" - Strummin' Jen in a Cave again!

YogaJen

Reaction score
Aloha uke friends :)
I've been on vacation from work and have had the time and inspiration to make a few more videos. Hope you enjoy this one - it involved a day's walk to get to & from this cave, but was such a treat to get out into the calm of nature. The video was a spur of the moment thing, I happened to have my beaten-up old mahalo uke in my backpack, as is my norm, and the song surfaced from back in December when I started playing it and loving it - originally by the Box Tops back in 1967. Hope you enjoy.
Cheers from DownUnder - see you at UWC 2013!
Jen

Now there's something novel that I haven't seen yet... playing uke in a cave! Very nicely done, but I don't think the US Postal Service delivers letters to caves! ;-)

Petey

Aloha Peter :)
Novel it is ... for starters, caves aren't just around every corner! They are wondrous places though, and I discovered a year ago that they are amazing to record in - nature's own recording studios. The only problem is that they usually involve a lot of effort to get to them. This one was a 3 hour walk there, 3 hours back, up hill and down dale, out into no-person's country, and with a venomous black snake crossing the path along the way, as well as some kangaroos and wallabies hopping about. You're right - there wont be any postal service heading this way shortly! (but it's a great song and the first that came to mind that I could do from memory and in one take !

Hey wonderful Ukelites!
Yes, incredible acoustics in the cave, and so true about the uke - my hubby and I do a lot of adventurous bush-walking here DownUnder - you folks in the US call it hiking I suspect - and I have a beaten up old mahalo uke in my backpack, ready for any opportunity.
The ukulele really is an extraordinary thing - so much possibility in a tiny package - and don't we love it ! :)

Alooooooooha Signor Skidoo!