Bought a new(used) uke, a few questions

diego429

Reaction score
Bought a new(vintage) uke, possibly a Nunes

So I was out of town today and bought a uke from a small stall. Tried it out and it sounded great, got it really cheap (in USD it would be around 80-90?). This is my 3rd uke.
The thing is I did a little research and apparently leonardo nunes ukes are really rare and expensive, so Im a little skeptical whether this is authentic or not but either way I love this uke.

Any ideas whether this could be the real thing? also what kind of wood is it? I'm not good at determining that kind of thing.

2013-01-22 17.21.35.jpg2013-01-22 17.21.50.jpg2013-01-22 17.22.01.jpg

Last edited:
Wow! It looks pretty nice to me!! Well done. The buttons holding the strings at the bottom look a bit suss - tho they may be authentic/old? ...... but who cares! It looks great, sounds great ...... looking forward to a sound sample!

Quickly comparing it to the Leonardo Nunes ukes on this page (esp. the Radio Tenor) I'd say it could well be "the real thing" - but as long as you like the sound this is just icing on the cake.

The extra patterning around the sound hole & edges usually leans towards the top model of any brand, too! After checking google images for Leonardo Nunes ukes - I can't fine one with patterning around both the edge and the middle! You may have a real winner there!!

I'd be getting a quote for insurance for it!! Make sure you have a hard case for it.

Where did you buy it? What country?

The extra patterning around the sound hole & edges usually leans towards the top model of any brand, too! After checking google images for Leonardo Nunes ukes - I can't fine one with patterning around both the edge and the middle! You may have a real winner there!!

I'd be getting a quote for insurance for it!! Make sure you have a hard case for it.

Where did you buy it? What country?

Thanks! I'll be protecting it!