Looking for advice: Minimal setup for loop pedal and/or multitrack recording.

ShawnMilo

Reaction score
I'm a big tech geek. I'm constantly surrounded by technology, write code for a living, and do lots of complicated stuff all the time. One of the things I love about the ukulele is that it's so simple. No picks. No strap. Only four strings. Nothing to plug in. Beautiful. It's my escape from complexity.

With that in mind, I have gotten to the point where I want to play both the chords and melody for a song, or maybe play some chords and loop the playback while I play something fingerstyle.

I'd prefer not to have to buy an electric ukulele. Mostly because I have several nice ukes and don't need another. Also because I can then use the new equipment for different ukes to enjoy the differences in sound. However, without an electric, I assume I'd have to get a mixer in addition to the amp and pedal.

I have condenser mics already. I can plug one into my computer and record each part in Audicity and mix them together. What's the minimum amount of hardware required to do something "live"? Specific model numbers are welcome. I only need enough to play in my computer room -- no live performances or anything like that. At most I'll record some video and put it on YouTube.

The emphasis here is on simplicity for the sake of simplicity; not so much to save money, although that's a huge plus.

I've done some Google searching and read reviews on different pedals. However, I don't understand enough of the terminology (no music background) to understand what the differences between the models are, and don't want to buy the wrong thing. I'd like something close to the setup in use in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baR9Le3ze9o

Thanks,
Shawn

Last edited:
I am fascinated with loop pedal possibilities too. Unfortunately I don't know much about the tech. I'll be watching this thread closely.

That said, have you seen this one?

http://youtu.be/b5zuxnr-rJQ