New uke day! Mainland mango soprano

Mattyukaholic

Reaction score
Newbie here. Hello all! I thought I'd chip in with my first proper post.

I got a new ukulele today. I'm just starting out really, graduated from guitar. :D It is a mango soprano from Mainland.

I have the Mainland red cedar concert direct from Mike and love it, but wanted to see if the mango was more mellow. The sound is really nice. I'm not very good at describing sounds but it has a smaller old fashioned uke sound - quite quiet and trebly. I don't mean that as a negative thing, I really love it. It sounds so different from the concert. I now have three ukes with different sounds that I love - an Islander mahogany with a soft mellow sound, the cedar concert with a loud and jangly sound and this one with a quieter more traditional plinky sound.

One thing I have to say is this uke is BEAUTIFUL!!! The grain of the mango looks really pretty and it is the colour of sunshine. I'm not sure if you can tell by the photos but it the grain almost sparkles. It's definitely the prettiest ukulele I own!

The action is nice and low and the intonation is really good up the neck. It is really nicely set up. I wouldn't expect anything less from Mainland.

Incidentally for UK UUers, I got this from Eagle Music. They're UK dealers for Mainland. I'd recommend them - decent prices, excellent service and quick delivery. It was a shame not to be able to specify certain things like tuners, but it was well set up and I'm happy with it.

Here are some photos:
image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg