Bushman Jenny Tenor or Gretsch Deluxe 9120-sm tenor

aloha888

Reaction score
Hi,
Just found this site. What a worth of information. I'm a newbie and looking to buy my first ukulele. It is down to either a 2005 Bushman Jenny Tenor or a new Gretsch deluxe (all solid) 9120-sm tenor. They are both close in price. I would appreciate any input.

I might expand my search, perhaps trying an Islander or used gear, but given the choice... Gretsch. Bushman Jennys had some trouble a few years back. I'm sure Google could fill you in on that.

I might expand my search, perhaps trying an Islander or used gear, but given the choice... Gretsch. Bushman Jennys had some trouble a few years back. I'm sure Google could fill you in on that.

Thanks Tiger for you input. These are both used, well the Gretsch is very slightly used. This Bushman was built in 2005, so does that mean it is built better than newer models. The price seems good for either, $130. This more than i wanted to spend on my first uke but after doing research I wanted a solid wood uke.

Welcome to the UU forums...
I too think a few bucks more will get you a more better uke...look into mainlands, KPK, vineyards, Makai....
Happy Strummings....

I don't know about the tenor you are looking at, but I have had two concert Bushman Jenny's and a Jenny Baritone of that 2005 era and they are excellent to my ears. Sold one concert, keeping the other concert and baritone. Will sell my Howlett tenor before I sell the Bushman concert for I enjoy the more mellow mahogany tone.
I believe the problem with the Bushman ukes dealt was with relationships with Mr. Hall, the owner, not the ukes.

Welcome to the UU forums...
I too think a few bucks more will get you a more better uke...look into mainlands, KPK, vineyards, Makai....
Happy Strummings....

I agree, as usual, with Stan. For another 75 doll hairs or so, you can have a new uke under warranty. Warranties are good, as ukes can be fickle.