Mexican Martin

bass5snake

Reaction score
Just tried a Mexican Martin ukelele. The best uke I've played so far. I'm a novice but I think I'd want one as an anniversary gift. ;)

I also thought all Martin products and made in America.

Richie

Just tried a Mexican Martin ukelele. The best uke I've played so far. I'm a novice but I think I'd want one as an anniversary gift. ;)

I also thought all Martin products and made in America.

Richie

Hi Richie:

There are quite a few fans of the Mexican built Martins here, myself included. They are fine ukes, if you like the Martin sound. Some will argue they are overpriced, but....a Martin is a Martin is a Martin.

I'm a fan of the Mexican Martins. The OXK and S1 and T1K are great.

Pedro Bosque

Thanks pdx. Yeah they are pricey. But they are not as expensive as their acoustic guitars. I think I can save up money and get a $400 Martin. :)

Also, are there any similar to Martin out there? In terms of playability and sound? But less expensive. A "poor man's Martin" shall we say?

I've got the Mexican Martin Guitar DX1 AE and I swear it has that classic Martin sound! I have played it alongside Martins that cost three times as much and think it holds its own just fine! Plus, arguably, as the main body and the neck are made of a composite material, it is also more ecologically sound ;)

Thanks pdx. Yeah they are pricey. But they are not as expensive as their acoustic guitars. I think I can save up money and get a $400 Martin. :)

Also, are there any similar to Martin out there? In terms of playability and sound? But less expensive. A "poor man's Martin" shall we say?

Well, a Martin is a Martin. But...

The Ohana SK38 is a wonderful soprano. It was modeled after Martin. It is good, very good, but the S1 sounds like a mahogany Martin to me. Although in a recent test I did, the S1 and the SK38 were pretty popular.

Anyway, I can absolutely recommend the SK38 from Ohana. Under $300, I think.