Complete beginner please help

LG1

Reaction score
Hello,

Im a complete beginner, I have a soprana uke and an instruction learn to play book. Its a really dumb question but from the book and you tube Im a bit confused. To play chords does the finger go inbetween the "markers" on the fretboard, or do you press against the marker, Im not sure if marker is the right word, I mean the raised piece of this wood running at 90 degees to the "handle". Secondly how hard do you press, do you press the string right down to the fretboard, or is just light pressure needed.

Sorry about the question being so dumb, but I really am a total complete novice, If Im honest I think I might have bitten off more than I can chew.

Thanks in advance

Don't feel bad, those are very common beginner questions and are rarely answered by the simple instruction sheets that come with most ukes or easily discernable from a YouTube video.

The answers are simple too - the ideal place to fret a string (that's what it's call by the way) is to press your finger just "behind" the fret (i.e. on the headstock side - where the string tuner knobs are - of the fret). You need to press only hard enough to get the string to sound clearly - pluck each string individually to see if any of your fingers are muffling the strings. Pressing too hard can pull the string out of tune, making the chord sound "dissonant."

Welcome to the beginning of a happy journey!

John

Thanks

Thanks, that makes a bit more sense, I'll have a try.

Thanks, that makes a bit more sense, I'll have a try.
Dont feel intimidated you will soon pick things up just keep practising and asking questions if you get stuck. One important thing is to keep it in tune.

Thanks

Dont feel intimidated you will soon pick things up just keep practising and asking questions if you get stuck. One important thing is to keep it in tune.