Hi all, just finished my first soprano

Sven

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm Sven from Stockholm, Sweden. I'm new to this forum and thought I'd introduce myself by showing my last build. Other than building ukes at night, I'm a busy father of two and I'm an architect. Been playing ukulele for two years and been building for about one year. So far a kit soprano, two tenors and now this new sop.

This appears on Cosmos and Uketalk as well, it's the same uke and almost the same post...

First out is a link to the building blog - most pics are horribly low-res, but a couple near the end (or in a blog way, the beginning) are better.

www.argapa.blogspot.com

Then we move on to a folder on box.net, which wasn't the perfect solution I thought it was. I'm not able to link pics from there into posts here. I have to get a better solution, or a hompage.

http://www.box.net/shared/nvh5ppefhy

Specs:
Sounboard, sides, bottom, neck, solid linings, bracing, bridgeplate and headstock veneer - honduran mahogany. All from the same plank.

Fretboard and bridge - jatoba. From flooring sample.

Nut and saddle - bone

tuners - violin tuners (most likely not ebony)

Strings - worth clear

Finish - Le Tonkinois Bio Impression oil

And the frets are bar frets that need an extra filing once I get a proper file.

It's really loud and by far the best ukulele I own! I love it. I'll build more, but intend to try other types of wood - I think Pete Howlett's endeavours are so inspiring. Some of the guys in the swedish "ukulele commission" have shown interest in buying ukes from me, I just need to figure the price out. And of course get the time to build...

Well, hope you like what you see.

Bye for now / Sven

[I'll write this in english although I'm swedish too, for the benefit of other readers...]

Great looking uke! You have to post a vid on youtube when you play it so we all get to hear it. I live in Stockholm to and would love to try it out sometime!

Hälsningar [=regards]

Baron