Tuning a Baritone like a Concert

Bryan13

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to the Ukulele, but was given a Baritone and was wondering if it can be tuned like a Concert. Would a different type of string need to be used? Is it even posssible?
Thanks for any replies.
Bryan

Crap... I feel like such a noob right now. Here I am using tenor strings on my Baritone to tune it GCEA, complaining how taut it is, when there was actually a simpler way to do it. Well... you learn something every single day.:p

A word of caution, if you're using tenor strings on a baritone, your neck might warp a little if it's not reinforced.

Only problems I've ever heard of happening when doing this are bridges being popped off and necks warping. Depends on the robustness of the construction.

I tried it with a shorter scale baritone ("18.5/8") with a set of Kaloa Golds designed for GCEA on the Bari. Came back to it the next morning and it had broken into a sweat, was shaking, the soundhole had turned into a grimace and tears were coming off of the headstock. :p

It's back to DBBE now.

I tried alsorts with my baritone low D, high D, low G. high G. I didn't really like anything. Eventually I put Worth concert strings on my and tuned it up to high G, C tuning. It's been like that for 9 months now with no problems. It's a Clearwater roundback bari (like the Ohana roundback concert only a bari).

It sounds great now - really great. I realised at the time that I was pushing it tension wise but it's a fairly cheap instrument so I thought I'd risk it. I don't think I'd do the same with an expensive one.