What would be the best uke for this situation?

haolejohn

Reaction score
I'm a teacher in Alaska. Not on a road. In the middle of nowhere. I travel quite a bit from village to village. I have already had three ukes damaged by the extreme temps (low of -43 so far). I am thinking about getting a flea or fluke for next school year. Is there any other recommendations? I have damaged two mainland red cedar ukes and a plastic top dolphin. I carried all three ukes in a gig bag when I traveled. I have traveled with a solid mahog uke in a case and it has been fine so far. But i really don't like traveling with the hard case b/c of the extra weight.

Mods if you want to move this to buying section you can. I didn't realize I had posted it in uke talk.

Last edited:
Wow John. -43F degrees is pretty extreme. Maybe the graphite fiber composite ukes might be ok . But they are pricey. Maybe you need a metal uke.

Wood hates low humidity. Plastic becomes brittle at low temperature. I would recommend a wood uke in a hard case with a humidifier, but the humidifier will freeze and probably break. Maybe try a laminated wood uke? They tolerate low humidity better than solid wood.

Not that I've played one, but I would have to agree with the carbon fiber option. I have played a couple of CF guitars and enjoyed them quite a bit. They are expensive, but, if you figure how fast you're going through ukuleles now, it'll pay for itself in a relatively short time.

I can't imagine a metal uke in that kind of cold....BRRRRRR! You might even stick to it if you're not careful! :D

I thought of the carbon fiber uke, but it is pricey. More pricey than I want to spend. Funny thing is, I was thinking of one of those fleas or flukes, but they are plastic:) LOL!! DUH!!