Why No Love for Aquila?

BigMamaJ40

Reaction score
Many uke ads boast the uke comes with Aquila strings. Conversely, many posters here say the first thing they will do to their new ukulele is remove the Aquila strings!

Does this distaste have to do with the sound, feel or quality of the Aquilas? Or is it a song-style issue? Or???

I am ready to restring my Pono MC. I have a pack of Living Waters and a pack of Aquilas. Which to choose? I am new to the uke, and am learning 20's style songs right now.

It goes in waves, like most things. When I started here it was all about Aquila. Now Living Water is the darling. Next it will be something else...

String it up and see what happens. The only opinion that matters is your own.

Put on the Living Waters.

My opinion: good Fluor carbons like Worth or Living Water let you hear your instrument, Aquila lets you hear the strings. I'm no fan of Aquila but on some ukes they can sound good.

I play with fingernails, and Aquilas have a very strange feel & sound when you play with fingernails.
It also depends on the instrument ... I use Savarez strings (custom set) and D'Addario strings on all my tenors.
I use Aquila strings on my banjoleles and soprano - they work great there.

When I buy a new instrument I always try different sets of strings to find the ones I like the most. I encourage you to try both sets ... and pick the one you like better.

When I first stared playing about 3 years ago, as others have said Aquilas were all the rage. You could put them on a cheap instrument and they would make it a lot louder. I also found them a bit harsh. When flouro-carbons (Martin, Living Waters, Diadorio, etc.) became widely available for ukes a few years ago, I switched to them and like the sound much better.

My Collings UT-1 tenors came from Bill Collings with Aquilas. They were ideal for that uke.