What is the best way to learn the ukulele?

Ukebum

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I started playing the ukulele not too long ago and have learned a handful of songs from this great site and other youtube videos. I would like to get to the point eventually where I can learn songs on my own and create the sounds that I want, like many of the fine players that I have come accross. So my question is: am I on the right track and just need to keep learning new chords and new songs, or is there something that I am missing in my approach to learing the ukulele?
Thanks!

Always make it your own! You really only need three chords, and some related minor keys to play anything. Listen, strum lightly and make it your own!

Always make it your own! You really only need three chords, and some related minor keys to play anything. Listen, strum lightly and make it your own!

I absolutely agree with most of this statement, particularly the first part. Make it your own. Really important. Don't just copy others and, in my view, NEVER try to copy the record.

But, strumming is really only part of playing the ukulele. You need to continue to learn how to play chords e.g. picking, decorating, runs, etc. Learning the ukulele is a process where you explore the many techniques like fills, using riffs, lead, melody, improvisation,finger-picking. And then you have musical theory ...

It is a cliche, but learning to play the uke is a journey, not a destination.

But, strumming is really only part of playing the ukulele. You need to continue to learn how to play chords e.g. picking, decorating, runs, etc. Learning the ukulele is a process where you explore the many techniques like fills, using riffs, lead, melody, improvisation,finger-picking. And then you have musical theory ...

It is a cliche, but learning to play the uke is a journey, not a destination.