Tell Me Not to Return This Uke! (Need Advice)

wayfarer75

Reaction score
Okay, so I got my second ukulele yesterday. I was sooooo excited. It had taken a while for it to get here (this model of LoPrinzi sopranos is on backorder, like, everywhere). I wanted to be sooooo in love with it. Well... I was really enamored with it until I saw that the neck looks twisted, up by the headstock. I've attached two pics, one from the headstock and one from the bridge.

I'm so bummed. I wasn't expecting the uke to be perfect, of course. I can deal with finish flaws and all that (if all I wanted was bling, I could have spent a lot less on a new uke, or just bedazzled my Kala). But if the neck is twisted, what to do?

I have emailed the same pics to the dealer, who is very reputable, does setups with all ukes, etc. I'm well within the return window, as the uke just arrived yesterday. It sounds fine, but gets out of tune--of course, it has new strings, plus there's the fact that I'm new to friction tuners. Hard to say if there's a resulting intonation problem.

Feel free to convince me I'm crazy, the uke's fine, just ignore it. I need advice from the folks in the know, so that's why I'm here. Believe me, I'd much rather be posting a happy "New Uke Day" thread. I feel sad for the poor li'l uke, whatever happened to it. :(

IMG_2320.jpgIMG_2340.jpg

No, you're not crazy. The uke's not fine. Just looking at the angle of the nut, there's got to be resultant intonation issues. You can't ignore that I'm afraid, a replacement is in order. No way that one should have made it through a QC check.

A friend told me if you're not in love with new uke the day you get it, it is not for you.
Plus, that new uke has a twisted neck, send it back. Surprised that wasn't noticed by the dealer.

Ditto what Jon said. Get a replacement. Loprinzi's are fantastic. Elderly has some cherry sopranos in stock.