A road-map for beginners?

oda

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm a long time fan of this website! You all have inspired me to pick up the ukulele, so thank you.

Now, the thing is I'm in the MIDDLE-EAST! and no one even knows what a Ukulele is, but I want to learn one no matter what. I ordered a Lanikai LU-21 -- and it will be here in a few days!

So now my question is -- NOW WHAT? I have no musical experience, and won't hear a LIVE ukulele for a while yet. So can you guys gimme a direction? Goals to try to accomplish? and how to accomplish them?

Do not be afraid, I won't be offended if you dumb your answers down to retard level. For now, at least.

Hey all, I'm a long time fan of this website! You all have inspired me to pick up the ukulele, so thank you.

Now, the thing is I'm in the MIDDLE-EAST! and no one even knows what a Ukulele is, but I want to learn one no matter what. I ordered a Lanikai LU-21 -- and it will be here in a few days!

So now my question is -- NOW WHAT? I have no musical experience, and won't hear a LIVE ukulele for a while yet. So can you guys gimme a direction? Goals to try to accomplish? and how to accomplish them?

Do not be afraid, I won't be offended if you dumb your answers down to retard level. For now, at least.

Hey Oda! Welcome! That's exciting that you ordered your first ukulele.

A great place to start is to watch a bunch of the videos on this site. Aldrine is a fantastic teacher. Some of the earliest ones are about the basics. Get a good chord dictionary or find one online.

And then just strum away and have fun! Happy that you're here!
-Heather

Hey Oda,