Do I to replace my strings?

Little Yoshi

Reaction score
So, I've been playing (using that term loosely) my uke's and was wondering if I need to replace the strings to get better sound? Or, just play the stock strings for awhile?

If so, Aquila? Or, does it depend on the uke?

Last edited:
That's Aquila (a lot of people in the US pronounce it it as if it were Spanish). These may well be the "stock" strings anyway. A great many ukulele companies use them.

My answer would be: no, it doesn't depend on the uke. This is contrary to what I used to believe and certainly goes against what most people would advise.

My view is that it depends on the sound you like. If you like the Aquila sound, and a lot of people do, then put them on everything. If you don't like the sound of Aquilas, and a few people don't, then try something else. When you find a string that you like, it will work on everything.

Last edited:
Thanks! I am not sure what sound I am looking for since I am a noob. Maybe I'll just buy a few different sets of strings since I have 2 uke's to test with.

That's Aquila (a lot of people in the US pronounce it it as if it were Spanish). These may well be the "stock" strings anyway. A great many ukulele companies use them.

Just a note - Mimmo kindly put up a sound file for us (in another thread) and it's actually pronounced very similar to aquifer... ah kwi LA (or kwee).
(it's Italian)

I very much like the Aquila strings on my Kala okoume tenor. I didn't like them at all on the spruce and lacewood. I agree with Ken that it really depends on the sound you want overall, not precisely on the uke type. I don't necessarily agree that one type of string will work on every uke though. :)

If I'm reading the original post correctly you were asking if you should try Aquila's... do you know what the uke is strung with originally? (sometimes it's not specified when purchased)