any chance anybody could aid me in identifying this thing?

Giant Jack

Reaction score
so i have been a musician for about 5 years, and i decided to try a new instrument, so i got a cheap ukulele. i really liked it, and decided to start writing music with it, so i figured i'd get something of better quality. however, i didn't have to do a thing as my uncle decided to pick this strange-smelling old baritone ukue (nevermind the fact that i wrote all those songs on a soprano!) from a tiny privately-owned guitar shop here in one of the smallest backwoods towns in ohio. so when i go to pick it up, the guy is just telling me it's "OLD" and that some other dude (his supplier, i believe) was telling him it was worth far more than what he promised to sell it for two weeks earlier (50$). never-the-less the dude sold it to me for 50$ like he said, and this thing smells something like dust covered in old people.

upon picking it up, i wasn't sure how it sounded, as it wasn't tuned, the strings were put in opposite of what they typically would, and for some reason there are mixed strings (2 nylon, the other 2 are some kind of nickel or steel or something). so i rearrange the strings, and tune it, and i simply cannot understand why he decided to sell me this thing for 50$ (add to that - even the cheapest baritones are usually upwards of 100$), as it sounds pretty nice to me!

so there's no name or any distinct features on this thing. it isn't very extravagant-looking. however, i'd like to know at least something about it! it's allegedly 'old', and while i wouldn't doubt it (dusty as all getup, and it has tons of wear & tear), i think it'd still be interesting to see if anyone might be able to tell me something about this guy. :}

heres a couple pictures of it with the case it came in;
l_62244574c4af4786aab804160fa34f4a.jpg

l_46eba61d19424d24b6c3a73cbbb2ba87.jpg