Kumalae Style 5 Question

Bluezhound

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have visited this forum but it is my first time posting. I am the owner of a 1915-1920 Kumalae soprano uke style 5. Looking at the pictures, you can see why it makes you both smile and cry, as it is a beautiful instrument, and in great condition, with the exception of some top damage or melting of some sort. I'm not sure but at some point someone perhaps tried repairing the top, or was it in a fire, who knows. I am not a Uke player, but a guitar player. The instrument seems to play ok, and sounds good to me even with the issue. It is not in perfect shape, as the inlay is gone in some areas, and there is one small top crack coming from the end of the neck about 1". The sides, back and neck all look solid.

I attached some pictures. The uke has a nice grain, the pics were taken on a sunny morning with natural light coming through the window, showing the honey brown koa. It has the original case as well.

My question is, what is the value of the instrument in its current state, and is this something that could be repaired? Or would the cost to repair be above the value?

Thanks again in advance, I think this is a beautiful instrument besides the one issue.

Attachments

• Uke10.jpg
    Uke10.jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 48
  • Uke11.jpg
    Uke11.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 60
  • Uke15.jpg
    Uke15.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 60
  • Uke25.jpg
    Uke25.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 52
  • Uke31.jpg
    Uke31.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 45
That is a very nice vintage Kumalae...his most lower end ones were built mostly for tourists....it has extensive damage and on the soundboard too... while I am sure a capable luthier
can repair it, it is in an area maybe that affects the sound....it's a big job for sure....maybe replacing the top will devalue it, something to think about or repairing it and wondering how