Aldrine's uke sounds good...

HBolte

Reaction score
Anyone know which strings he is using these days? Thanks.

Aldrine could play a pine 2 X 4 strung with wet noodles and make it sound better than me on my best uke with magic strings. :)

John

Aldrine could play a pine 2 X 4 strung with wet noodles and make it sound better than me on my best uke with magic strings. :)

John

Exactly.

Jake played my Hawaiian Ukulele Company ukulele. It was a laminate. He made it sing. It's not the instrument. It's not the strings. It's the player.

T2's are what I saw as well.

John

heh heh great retort John

John

Thanks, I understand that. Since I have a Kanile'a Tenor and want to try different strings, first trying what he uses will be a good place to start.

Thanks all, I'll try the T2's!

Remember that Aldrine and Jake play it plugged (using a pick-up) most of the time, which sounds different than an unplugged uke. When I started playing uke I didn't really know about the effect it had on the sound. This also makes a difference (besides that they are just awesome players).

Remember that Aldrine and Jake play it plugged (using a pick-up) most of the time, which sounds different than an unplugged uke. When I started playing uke I didn't really know about the effect it had on the sound. This also makes a difference (besides that they are just awesome players).

Good point about being plugged in. This is the sound I like of his, at :55 seconds: http://ukuleleunderground.com/2013/01/uke-lesson-62-let-it-be-the-beatles/

Do you think the sound is from the video mike or line in?

I'll go out on a limb and say I can strum a C chords as well as Aldrine. ;)

Funny. I haven't seen either one use a pick.

Figured I'd chime in haha.