order a new IZ tenor with or without pickup?

PeteyHoudini

Reaction score
Hey gang!

I'm thinking about ordering the new IZ tenor... if I bite the bullet, should I order one with or without a pickup from Martin? Sorry, but I'm out of ideas on that front. Please help. :cool:

Petey

Last edited:
It's an abomination to plug in a uke. A uke with a pickup is the devil's playground. ;)

What are they offering to outfit it with? You are a performer- you'll be glad you included one.

What are they offering to outfit it with? You are a performer- you'll be glad you included one.
Funny, they don't mention what type of pickup they install. I have no idea, but I'm curious about that. Thanks for the "performer" moniker but I'm just a librarian, and part-time amateur uke player who likes to do videos. hehe

Petey

Petey--no pick up. Mic it. My two cents. :)

Depends on where you perform as they don't always have several mics handy. Also, It seems that most small amps have an input for one instrument and one mic. You might have to bring your own amp and you don't want to lug a huge one.

I would definitely ask what type they provide.

I know PedalFreak Aaron on UU has a couple Iz ukes coming, Petey. No clue if he ships to Timbuck 2, though. lol

Is that the one with geared tuners? Hmm. (a long thoughtful silence).

I've got Dragon Naturally Speaking voice rec software here in my sweaty little hand and I'm going to install it, train it, and reply to your email to me. That's my goal for the next ten days. lol I'm not kidding, either. I just have to train this bugger.

Looking forward to more of your informative and funny videos, Petey.

Edit: I saw this on Gryphon...it's not Iz, but it costs about the same and sure looks like a sa-weet tenor. Just sayin'. lol
http://www.gryphonstrings.com/instpix/40081/index.php

Last edited: