When Did You First Find Out You Weren't a Beginner Anymore?

Kyle23

Reaction score
How long did it take you? What milestone did you "hit" that made you say "hey, maybe I'm not really a beginner anymore". It's a tough question because it's really all about opinion. I must say, after 2 months, I really hate the beginner tag that's put on ukulele players who have been playing for a little, but I can't decide where the beginner tag ends. Like for me, I pick up my uke, and I like to mess around and come up with my own chord progressions and I really have a feel for it. I don't want to think of myself as a beginner and most of you would probably still call me a beginner. I just think I've reached the point where I'm not a beginner. For an example when I watch beginner tutorials on youtube, I can't do them anymore, it's just too basic to have fun with. I like the challenge of learning harder stuff. I'd really like to hear opinions on this matter. Is it just the amount of time you've been playing? Could you be a beginner for 2 weeks, be amazing and be above that beginner status? Could you be playing for 2 years, and still be a beginner? Where's THAT line?

So I'd like to get your opinions on both. When did you decide you weren't a beginner and also when do you think that line is crossed into "intermediate" playing.

Been playing for a year now and still very much a novice. I don't really regard myself as a musician as such - just a chap who happens to enjoy playing the ukulele as a hobby.

I would love to reach a standard at which I would feel confident playing in front of others but that is a very long way off.

Been playing for a year now and still very much a novice. I don't really regard myself as a musician as such - just a chap who happens to enjoy playing the ukulele as a hobby.

I would love to reach a standard at which I would feel confident playing in front of others but that is a very long way off.