Ukuleles in the office

Mattyukaholic

Reaction score
Does anyone else have a ukulele at work? I'm a librarian and have a little office of my own (though people use it as a corridor.) I've got a horrible little toy ukulele used for children's story-time and am thinking of buying a proper one to have at work. Maybe another mainland. Is this really extravagant?? :rolleyes:

I have to admit, there is a little part of me also that wants another ukulele, but if I get one for home my fiancee might never marry me!

not extravagant at all mate. Especially if you're playing it at work, you want to sound your best for when those folks trot through your corridor! But you're a librarian, aren't you s'posed to be quiet bro?I had a librarian at school called Mr Shush and he never would have let you through the door with a uke in hand ..he he :eek:ld:

If the boss is okay with it, then go for it. I'd watch the humidity levels, most libraries are pretty dry, in my experience. Or you could get a Flea/Fluke. One of those would go over well at storytime, too. And is less likely to get destroyed accidentally by customers/coworkers.. etc.

Haha!! The times they are a changin'. I play ukulele at storytimes and the kids love it. I've come up with tunes to go along with Bear Hunt and the book 'pants!' (which means something else in the uk :) )

I normally just use a mahalo for that though as many a toddler has picked it up and smashed it against one thing or another.

Flea/Fluke sounds like a good call. It is pretty dry in here. I could just bring a ukulele in from home of course, but that would take away a good excuse to buy a new one ;) UAS!!!!!

It sounds like a fabulous excuse to order a new ukulele today!

I'm self employed and keep my Mainland concert in my office for downtime and emergencies. I'm not yet sure if it is a good idea because that down time really isn't supposed to be downtime!