Flying with an ukulele...travel tips

LutzSpearo

Reaction score
Hi everyone! We are getting ready to fly back to Korea, its about 24 hours in a plane. I have a new premium Kanile'a concert uke that I'll be carrying on with me, it's my first time flying with a uke. I imagine there are two main threats to the uke while flying, lack of humidity and impacts. So I have an Oasis uke humidifier and an Oahu hardshell case. I'll probably need to have the humidifier in a ziplock to go thru security, but once cleared I'll take it back out of the baggie. What else can I do to ensure my uke makes it safe and sound? Are there any other things to consider?

All you old hats at travelling with ukes, please pass along your wisdom and experiences, I would greatly appreciate it. :) Many thanks!

Case

I've flow with mine many times, and honestly have done nothing that special. I almost always carry it on, and when I do I've literally done nothing but be keep it in a hard case. Once, my only option was to check it, so I brought a less expensive uke and packed it on the center of a large bag with clothing all around it. Both worked fine, though I'd never check my nicer instruments.

Be sure to review your airline's carryon rules.

Most count your instrument as one bag, but will accomodate an instrument with no problem.

I took my soprano on a flight as one of my two bags and had no problem at all.

Happy travels

I have flown many times with a uke in the overhead..but only 5/6 hour flights..i don't think you have to worry too much about your uke drying out in 24 hours..

the main thing is having it in a safe spot in the overhead..ask MGM he knows all that stuff.

did you get the uke from him at The Ukulele Site(aka HMS) ?

Last edited:
Nothing to worry...Enjoy your flight back and why don't you bring your uke next time you go to a noraebang!! LOL