I Wanna Know - Technical Questions Regarding Wood

bkmdano

Reaction score
Aloha ...

I'm new to UU and my buddy suggested I post a new thread rather than tagging it onto an existing one.

I've been checking types of wood and their characteristics the past few months ... waiting for custom tenor build. Anyways ... I've selected (in my mind) a mix of dark and curly koa - always subject to change until the build is finalized. Questions top of mind for me that I have not yet found answers for are:

1) How does maturity of wood affect tonal quality? I use grains per inch as a measure of maturity.
2) What effect does aging wood have a ukulele's characteristics? Kamaka ages their koa a minimum of three years or more.
3) Is there a difference ... book joining versus aligning boards up/down ... affecting tonal characteristics or is it purely cosmetic ?

I trust my luthier but I'm also a geek and want to understand how choices impact the final product.

Appreciate the knowledge ... Danny

1) Depends on the piece of wood
2) Depends on the piece of wood
3) Depends on the piece of wood

While it's kinda possible to make generalisations on wood characteristics across many, many instruments, when you are talking about a sample size of one, generalisations don't really mean s*&t.

If you can't trust your luthier who can you trust.................

Wood needs to be dry. Not just on the surface, but right through. I never touch a piece of wood for a build no matter who sends it to me for at least 6 months after it's been sized down to about 4mm and stored in my dry room. Most won't get touched for many years. That's why so many of us have a wood stash that seems a bit absurd to others that only build as a hobby.

Book matches look best in my opinion. Sound better.....sure why not.

The rest is far too speculative to offer comment.

Vaya con Dios..

hahah

Did you hear the one about the Dyslexic Insomniac Agnostic?- He sat up all night wondering if there was a dog.