Buy your ukulele a goldfish.

hoosierhiver

Reaction score
I always cringe when I hear about ukuleles cracking from dry air in the winter months. An aquarium is a great way to keep the humidity levels up.

Here's a link to a fish forum talking about humidity. I thought it was kind of funny that some of them were worried about 45% humidity, they obviously don't play stringed instruments.
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1738406

This is a great excuse to hang all my ukes in the living room! Or, to get a second aquarium...but I prefer to move my ukes to the living room.

You are a bad influence. I would love to get another tropical reef aquarium. I wouldn't have even connected it with my ukulele obsession. That is great info.

I used to have a thriving saltwater aquarium. I was a total amateur and did everything "wrong" but that tank was amazingly healthy and teeming with life. But I'm pretty sure if I had put my ukulele in it, it would have hurt both the aquarium and the ukulele. Sorry, but I'll stick with a humidifier in my case. ;)

I haven't had an aquarium in years, but I once had several - don't ask me about the time I got the hairbrained idea to raise betas... LOL

John

I breed fish and keep 8 open top aquariums in my home, I used to keep a reef as well. And I live in Memphis where humidity is generally well over 50%. I made a hanger for one of my ukes last week and decided not to mount it on the wall near an aquarium, as I was concerned about too much humidity. Is it possible to over-humidify a uke?

I breed fish and keep 8 open top aquariums in my home, I used to keep a reef as well. And I live in Memphis where humidity is generally well over 50%. I made a hanger for one of my ukes last week and decided not to mount it on the wall near an aquarium, as I was concerned about too much humidity. Is it possible to over-humidify a uke?

Yes, it is. 50-60% is a good range, anything over that might be getting too high.