My Triumphant Return To The Stage!

Papa Tom

Reaction score
You guys may have heard my story before. I was a professional drummer for many years, had the opportunity to play most of the concert arenas I had dreamed about as a kid, then packed it in about 18 years ago. Sometime in the last half-decade or so, my body started twitching and itching and shaking and I couldn't figure out what was wrong until some very wise person suggested that all that misplaced energy was the leftover music in me, struggling to get out. That's when I bought my first ukulele.

Today, I performed in front of a live audience for the first time since 1995. This time, there were no drums to hide behind; just me, my ukulele, and an auditorium filled with three and four-year olds! I've gotta tell you, if you ever feel spent, like you've lost all your energy for music and/or life, get up in front of a room filled with pre-school kids and start chugging away on your uke. I went into this experience only mildly psyched, as I felt kind of "silly" getting excited over it. Now that it's over, I can't get the images of all those mesmerized smiles, the screaming laughter, and the pure expressions of joy my little $40 instrument brought to that room today.

I know many of you are very serious uke players who can play me under the table, but I truly hope that every time you pick up the instrument, you all have as much fun as I did today.

Thanks for letting me share this!

That put a big smile on my face. As a librarian I sometimes play ukulele at Storytimes to pre-school kids and their parents/carers. I also play in an indiepop band. But I can tell you now, the adrenalin and good vibes I get from those Storytimes are easily as good as those from gigging! I think it's playing for fun and the sheer happiness it brings the kids. Good to hear someone else feeling the same thing.