can you change just one string?

jessesouza

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to ukuleles and find that barring chords is difficult, my ukulele was setup by HMS so the action is nice and low but I was wanted to change my 3rd string (C) and put on a .027 or .029 gauge similar to Galli concert strings or fremont flouro. Is is better to change out all the strings? I have the standard Aquilas now. Thanks for any info...

you can try it - it won't hurt anything. Different strings though have different sound and the mix may or may not sound well together.

However, you may find that the smaller gage fluoro string is actually higher tension than the Aquila! Fluorocarbon strings are thinner but they can be thinner because they are more dense. A lot of people feel like they are actually harder on the fingers because of that. I.e. the tension is the same or higher than the Aquila and the string is thinner, meaning more pain.

I'm assuming you're pretty new to the uke. Just keep playing a little each day and soon you will discover that you don't even feel the strings any more. Honest!

John

changing single string

thanks John, I am new to ukuleles and I am playing daily. It's just those confounded barr chords that I'm not pressing hard enough yet.

to me its kind of like putting 1 brand new tire on your car. it will work but it just rides better with 4 new ones

thanks John, I am new to ukuleles and I am playing daily. It's just those confounded barr chords that I'm not pressing hard enough yet.

I can relate, though I have to go back a lot of years to when I started on guitar. :)