Need Asking Price Advice on a used Kamaka soprano pineapple

nukelady

Reaction score
I would sure appreciate some advice about the asking price on an 11-year-old Kamaka soprano pineapple for sale on a local Craigslist. I haven't seen this Kamaka posted here on the UU Marketplace. So it is local in the Pacific Northwest.

http://bellingham.craigslist.org/msg/3659593043.html

The Elderly price today for this ukulele is $845 new. Is there any advantage or disadvantage to the older one compared to a new one, assuming that the seller's description of mint condition is spot on? Is the asking price of $550 too high?

Thanks for any thoughts - I am enjoying reading the threads and learning opportunities that UU members have generously provided me so far. And my 4 purchases from UU members are already beloved members of a growing UAS obsession. The guest room is now a ukulele staging area... Back to practicing blues chord progressions. Regards! JC

Last edited:
I'm not a Kamaka expert, but $550 seems reasonable for a near-mint condition Pineapple to me. It is Craigslist, so ask what is the lowest price the seller will take. Inspect it and play it before handing over the cash.

There is some argument that Kamakas from the 40s and 50s sound better than the modern version, but I haven't heard that 2010s sound better than 2000s... Any Kamaka experts want to weigh in?

Nukelady
I looked at it and it is a great looking one. I would start with $450 offer & go up from there. Play it first
Don ,in Oregon