Baritone string advice please

camperman

Reaction score
Hi everyone I'm a beginner of 5 months and I just bought a Lanakai LU21 Baritone which is strung DGBE
My intention is to string it GCEA as I'm not ready to start learning new chord shapes yet but someone suggested I try playing it with the chord shapes I know while I wait for my new strings and it sounds rather low but quite mellow and full to me with my untrained ear. I like the deep tones and the guitar like sound of the wound strings but my nails are way too soft for wound strings so it's definitely got to be nylon for me.
Is it common to play a baritone uke strung DGBE as if it were GCEA?

Now my actual question is
When I re string to GCEA should I use a Low G?

Thanks
Ed

Last edited:
Hi everyone I'm a beginner of 5 months and I just bought a Lanakai LU21 Baritone which is strung DGBE
My intention is to string it GCEA as I'm not ready to start learning new chord shapes yet but someone suggested I try playing it with the chord shapes I know while I wait for my new strings and it sounds rather low but quite mellow and full to me with my untrained ear. I like the deep tones and the guitar like sound of the wound strings but my nails are way too soft for wound strings so it's definitely got to be nylon for me.
Is it common to play a baritone uke strung DGBE as if it were GCEA?

Now my actual question is
When I re string to GCEA should I use a Low G?

Thanks
Ed

The chord shapes aren't new on a baritone. They are exactly the same as on any other ukulele. It is just the names that change.

My advice would be to stick to baritone tuning. I feel that baritone ukes sound best with G tuning (low or high D). However, if you really must tune it to C, then I would probably go for linear (low G). It will sound fine.

The chord shapes aren't new on a baritone. They are exactly the same as on any other ukulele. It is just the names that change.