Best ukulele for heavy travelling?

unijaw

Reaction score
Hey folks I've done some reading on this already but I decided to make a thread on this forum for direct opinions regarding this. Essentially I'm going on a backpacking trip around the UK. I'll be sleeping rough most nights with my tarp and bivy bag. It'll be a fun time but I want to take a ukulele along with me. Now I love the ukulele but I haven't really had much of a chance to practice it and I'm basically a beginner. I still fumble chords and struggle to keep a good strum. At anyrate I'll be taking my uke with my while I go backpacking. Currently I own a dirt cheap 'Vintage' soprano ukulele which I purchased from amazon:http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vintage-VUK20N-Ukulele-Outfit-Tan/dp/B002QFX9O6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364577566&sr=8-1
My question is what ukulele is good to take on a long backpacking trip? I've looked around and seen some travel ukuleles which are thinner than most but I've also seen people recommend a flea ukulele for camping on this forum claiming that its a very durable instrument. I intend to invest on a very good ukulele ideally solid wood as I hear that solid wood is superior to laminate would anyone have any reccomendations on ideal ukuleles for my needs? I'm concerned a flea ukulele might have too wide a base to fit into my sidepocket. Essentially I have my uke stored in my sidepocket with the top poking out. Here's the backpack if you are interested: http://store.berghaus.com/p/packs/crusader-90-plus-20-mmps-rucksack/434644 It's worth mentioning that I'm a jobless student who spent most of his leftovers from his loan on travelling gear so pennies are tight:eek: