Soprano or Concert? (newbie question)

GreyPoupon

Reaction score
I am sure this question must come up all the time but I wasn't able to find such a conversation in the search function...

I am just starting out. I have only tried a soprano and I am able to squeeze my fingers into the right spots, but it is an effort.

How much larger is the fret board on a concert? Is it only slightly easier, or far easier to play fret board wise?

I am tempted to just buy a concert, but I feel this is just walking away from the challenge of the soprano. I suspect that if I stick it out with the soprano playing the other sizes down the road will be far easier. And if I jump right to concert I may never end up playing soprano ever...

Any advice / guidance to offer? Thanks in advance!

(Only after I posted did I realize this should be in the beginner's section. Sorry!)

Last edited:
The difference is about two inches in scale length. If playing a soprano is a tight squeeze, the concert will be easier. But it's actually pretty rare that someone is physically unable to play a soprano because their fingers are too big. Still, try out a concert and compare for yourself. It doesn't hurt to have one of each size!

hey welcome to uu, well when i started out playing the ukulele i started out with a baritone, then tenor, then soprano i tend to play the soprano more though because its so portable n i like the sound of it. But in my opinion the soprano and concert are almost same since the concert is only a lil bit bigger. Experience only will tell what kind of uke you want so i guess play some more ukulele to find out the right size for you.

...it's actually pretty rare that someone is physically unable to play a soprano because their fingers are too big.
Yep. What haole said.