To low G or not to low G

billcarr

Reaction score
I have 2 tenors. One set up with Low G and the other with high G. I really like the low G sound but it does sound more guitar'ish than the high G set up. High G on the tenor still gives it a very ukulele character.

What do others think about the low G setup?

Its obvious that I am new to uke :)

Bill

You have the perfect set-up. Keep both of them and be able to handle any arrangement of lead melody or comping.

I love the low G. I'm more of a fingerstyle player, and so I need the more complete array of notes. I even have a low G soprano, although it came to me that way - I probably wouldn't have thought of doing that myself.

I was put off by the "boomy" sound when I first switched my tenor to low G, but I am used to it now and like it.

I came at this issue from the other direction. My first and only uke is a tenor that I had set up with a low G when I bought it. After trying several instruments with both tunings, I kept coming back to low G as my preferred sound.

Fast forward to three weeks later and I am now looking for a new tenor to string with high G. I think it might be related to the rash of high quality builds that provide such full and lush sounds with whatever way they are strung.

I have 3 tenors and 2 are strung low G. I am on a trip w my reentrant G and miss the low G sound. Can't wait to get back home.

Just to be difficult -- low G does not interest me at all.

I would have to agree with sukie however i do find a low g song every once in a while that I'd like to learn so if I were you I'd put high G on my favorite uke and low on my other one

If I played a sop or con regardless of neck length, I like it reentrant but for a tenor, I like low G. Based on body volume, David Hurd recommends certain tuning.