PDA

View Full Version : To low G or not to low G

billcarr
04-06-2013, 04:10 AM
I have 2 tenors. One set up with Low G and the other with high G. I really like the low G sound but it does sound more guitar'ish than the high G set up. High G on the tenor still gives it a very ukulele character.

What do others think about the low G setup?

Its obvious that I am new to uke :)

Bill

lkdumas
04-06-2013, 04:18 AM
You have the perfect set-up. Keep both of them and be able to handle any arrangement of lead melody or comping.

kvehe
04-06-2013, 04:19 AM
I love the low G. I'm more of a fingerstyle player, and so I need the more complete array of notes. I even have a low G soprano, although it came to me that way - I probably wouldn't have thought of doing that myself.

Pondoro
04-06-2013, 04:34 AM
I was put off by the "boomy" sound when I first switched my tenor to low G, but I am used to it now and like it.

bborzell
04-06-2013, 04:48 AM
I came at this issue from the other direction. My first and only uke is a tenor that I had set up with a low G when I bought it. After trying several instruments with both tunings, I kept coming back to low G as my preferred sound.

Fast forward to three weeks later and I am now looking for a new tenor to string with high G. I think it might be related to the rash of high quality builds that provide such full and lush sounds with whatever way they are strung.

Dan Uke
04-06-2013, 06:23 AM
I have 3 tenors and 2 are strung low G. I am on a trip w my reentrant G and miss the low G sound. Can't wait to get back home.

sukie
04-06-2013, 06:25 AM
Just to be difficult -- low G does not interest me at all.

BIGDB
04-06-2013, 07:26 AM
I would have to agree with sukie however i do find a low g song every once in a while that I'd like to learn so if I were you I'd put high G on my favorite uke and low on my other one

Dan Uke
04-06-2013, 07:55 AM