PDA

View Full Version : Teacher needed?

GreyPoupon
12-20-2008, 06:39 PM
Does getting actual lessons from a ukulele teacher help much? Or is there such a wealth of information on-line (such as this forum) that one can pretty much get the same results by being self-taught?

MisoHappy
12-20-2008, 08:19 PM
You can get the same help on forums as you can from an instructor, but there are a few upsides to getting personal lessons. For one, an instructor will probably get to know your style, what you're good at and can learn easily and vise versa, so h/she can help you there. Also he/she can show you what you might be doing wrong.(of course, people can help you with these on forums, but it's easier to understand and fix your mistake if someone's showing you up front) It's also good to be self-taught. It will improve your musical ear and understanding. It's really up to how you think you can learn better.

upskydowncloud
12-21-2008, 12:55 AM
Does getting actual lessons from a ukulele teacher help much? Or is there such a wealth of information on-line (such as this forum) that one can pretty much get the same results by being self-taught?

It definitely helps to have lessons. Self-teaching is excellent but as the second poster says it has its limits. There are certain things you just can't teach yourself, or at least don't notice you're doing without a teacher's input.

Having someone who knows what they're doing tell you how to hold the uke properly and how to sit correctly really helps. Once you have these basics self-teaching is pretty much all you need. I have a lesson once a week and it helps just to get feedback on my playing and technique etc.

allinfun
12-21-2008, 04:06 AM
I think it depends. Ukulele stylings are incredibly different and if your instructor is someone who thinks that the only way to play the uke is to just strum the crap out of it really fast, you will miss out.